The View From My Window

The world as seen from my window and through my eyes

Consult your Funk and Wagnalls September 17, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — auntlelo @ 8:31 pm

I had a fun weekend. I ran away from home!

Actually, my husband and I tagged along with my cousin Kevin and his wife Jayne and spent the weekend in search of antiques and MKT Railroad collectibles. It was lots of fun. I didn’t buy a lot, but, was completely taken with an antique wooden box that Jayne found. It happened to be a great old box with a label printed on the side that said “Funk and Wagnalls literary guides.” I just had to have it!

You see, Funk and Wagnalls always reminds me of my boss Chris. Whenever someone in our office made a really bad grammatical error, she’d chuckle and say “Look that up in your Funk and Wagnalls!” So, now I have the box and after a little looking on eBay this evening, realized that on future trips I need to look for some of the very early editions of the Funk and Wagnalls guides. They started printing their literary guides in 1890. That sounds like a great place to start!

 

Leave a Reply

