The View From My Window

The world as seen from my window and through my eyes

Back from the dead? October 3, 2011

Filed under: Random Musings — auntlelo @ 6:58 pm

I haven’t thought about this blog in a long time. About two years, actually. There was a time in my life when writing about ceramic chicken friends, short stories about my life and my views about everything from weather to people kept me entertained. Then I allowed a negative comment or two kill the pleasure for me. For two whole years…

Well, enough of that! I need to sharpen the old virtual pencil and start to harass my friends and family again with shameless puns, imaginary chickens and all sorts of random hilarity. So, here goes.

Today’s random musing is about how hard it is to get used to the technology in a new car. Case in point:

I got a new SUV a week ago. I love it. It’s a Chevy Equinox and it has everything from soup to nuts. I particularly love the fact that the iPod now hooks into the system and we have this wonderful display that allows us to manage our songs from the dash. It also has a terrific navigation system (thank you OnStar). It also has a one disc CD player. This is where I ran into problems. I like to believe I’m somewhat intelligent, but, while I was able to figure out how to load the CD, play the CD, work through the tracks of the CD, etc., I was completely unable to figure out how to eject the CD!

Twenty minutes. This is definitely an issue of usability, not stupidity.  I really, really believe that everything else about this car is terrific. They obviously added the eject button as an afterthought.

Maybe we’ll have more random musings in a day or two. In the meantime, I’ll take a feather duster to the chicks in the office and see if they have anything new to say after two years!

 

Leave a Reply

